Morley and RML announce Morley Prize shortlist

The Morley Prize shortlist for unpublished writers of colour has been announced by the judging panel. The annual prize jointly presented by Morley College London and the award-winning Rachel Mills Literary Agency (RML), now in its second year, has revealed its shortlist from which this year’s prize-winner will be chosen and announced at a special event on 20th October 2022.

The judges were hugely impressed by the standard and quality of this year’s writing, commending those who reached the longlist stage. Congratulations to all those who made both lists – it was a competitive process.

The overall winner will be announced at Prize event on 20th October at Morley College London’s Waterloo Centre for adult education.

This year’s shortlist is as follows:


Tania Duckworth – The Barefoot Girl

Chima Itabor – Mules of the World

Hanna Thomas Uose – Who Wants To Live Forever

FQ Yeoh – The Labelled Bones


Emma Korantema Hanson – Moody

Durre Shahwar – Words I Was Taught

Morley Prize Award and Black History Month

The Morley Prize Award event will coincide with Black History Month and a number of celebrations by Morley College London including a showcase of the music of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor one of the first Black composers in 18th Century London and hugely popular.

We look forward to announcing our winner, hearing readings and enjoying some Nigerian food supplied by local restaurant Sisi Olonje.

The panel of judges comprises RML’s Nelle Andrew (as Fiction lead), Publishing Director Marianne Tatepo (who will lead the Non-Fiction category), novelist Louise Hare, lecturer Billy K. Kahora and author, Ayisha Malik. Find out about our judges by visiting the Morley Gallery website.

Links to related articles: