When & Where

Suitable For

  • All age groups are permitted on this course

Quick Facts

  • Availability Yes (course free to 16-18 year olds)
  • Course Code K22ITCB05A

What you will learn

This qualification is designed to support learners who wish to study IT as a one-year, full-time course, or for those wishing to take it alongside another area of complementary or contrasting study as part of a two-year, full-time study programme. It supports progression to higher education if taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

By the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Understand Information Technology Systems (120 GLH)
  • Create Systems to manage Information (90 GLH)
  • Use Social Media in Business (90 GLH)
  • Understand Programming (90 GLH)
  • Develop an understanding of Website Development (60 GLH)
  • Develop an understanding of Mobile Apps Development ((60 GLH)
  • Understand Big Data and Business Analytics (60 GLH)
  • Understand IT Project Management (90 GLH)
  • Understand Cyber-Security and Incident Management (120 GLH)
  • Develop an understanding of IT Service Delivery (120 GLH)
  • Understanding of Cloud Storage and Collaboration Tools (60 GLH)
  • Develop your understanding of The Internet of Things (60 GLH)

Class format and activities

External Assessment Each external assessment for a BTEC National is linked to a specific unit. All of the units developed for external assessment are of 90 or 120 GLH to allow learners to demonstrate breadth and depth of achievement. Each assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked by Pearson and a grade awarded. Learners are permitted to resit external assessments during their programme The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the Information Technology suite are:
• examinations – all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
• set tasks – learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task. Internal Assessment Most units in the sector are internally assessed and subject to external standards verification. This means that you set and assess the assignments that provide the final summative assessment of each unit, using the examples and support that Pearson provides. Before you assess you will need to become an approved centre, if you are not one already. You will need to prepare to assess using the guidance in Section 6. In line with the requirements and guidance for internal assessment, you select the most appropriate assessment styles according to the learning set out in the unit. This ensures that learners are assessed using a variety of styles to help them develop a broad range of transferable skills. Learners could be given opportunities to:
• write up the findings of their own research
• use case studies to explore complex or unfamiliar situations
• carry out projects for which they have choice over the direction and outcomes
• demonstrate practical and technical skills using appropriate tools/processes.

Entry requirements

If you are aged 16 to 19. You have achieved minimum of 5 GCSEs at 4-5 (Cs) or above OR achieved successfully an appropriate qualification at level 2 qualification, preferably in Business at least a Merit grade. English and Maths Level to be successful at your vocational studies You will be expected to hold 4 or 5 (C) or above in English and Maths. You may be considered (Centre Principal discretion) If you have not yet achieved a grade 4 at GCSE (C), but hold a grade 3 (D) in one subject, English or Maths you will expected to enrol onto an appropriate English and/or Maths course at GCSE and achieve the qualification in the first year to ensure progression onto the second year of the programme.

What you need to know before you enrol

The BTEC Nationals attract UCAS points. Please go to the UCAS website for full details of the points allocated.

What you need

You will be given a book list and will be expected to buy a main text to support you in your studies. You will be expected to buy stationery (pens and paper) to support you during your studies.

What you can do next

When taken alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels, this qualification gives learners the opportunity to progress to higher education to study a BTEC Higher National in Information Technology, a degree in an information technology discipline or a degree where information technology related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies. This qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements for many relevant courses. The qualification supports entry to, for example:
• HNC in Interactive Media
• FdSC in Business Computing
• HND in Engineering Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Diploma in Information Technology –
• BSc (Hons) in Information Management for Business
• BA (Hons) in Accounting and Finance
• BSc (Hons) in Information Management for Business. Some university courses may require the achievement of specific units and learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers. The qualification, when studied with other Level 3 qualifications, is aimed at progression to higher education but also enables learners to develop knowledge and skills needed for entry-level roles related to IT including vocational apprenticeship roles and trainee/entry-level roles in software development, web/content development, mobile apps design, games design, programming and IT/business analysis support.